The village of Aberdour is a coastal village located in Eastern Scotland (not far from Edinburgh, going northeast towards Aberdeen or St. Andrews). It's famous for its medieval castle and church, belonging to the Fife Coastal Path. In the surrounding area is a small beach hidden among the rocks known locally as Silver Sands. The clear water is obviously very cold, but being that it's not very famous, there are few people walking along the shore (not-local, of course). The strange thing is that this beach seems to completely merge with the surrounding nature, that is, the forest and trees reach the sand of the beach without any gaps for typical beach surroundings (even on the beach there is the occasional tree), which only makes it more charming. Apparently, it's the typical place locals come to in summer/spring to relax. Highly recommended after a visit to the castle and the church, to take a relaxing walk on a nearly deserted beach where you'll only hear the crashing waves in the background.
Aberdour Castle is the main attraction of this town on the Fife Coastal Path, and although it's not the biggest or the most colorful, it is listed as one of the oldest castles in the country (late 12th/early 13th century). Partly in ruins and partly intact, the castle offers beautiful views over the coast and can be visited in its entirety, including the rear and gardens (the oldest part). Although it's called a castle, historians call it a fortified residence, probably due to its size. Its most illustrious inhabitants were the Earls of Morton, and the Douglas family. The most curious part is in the back, where we found an isolated tower shaped like a missile or rocket, which was used in ancient times to keep and salt meat in order to have food in the harsh and long winters. It's not well promoted, and so it makes sense that visitors do not have any idea of its existence.
The church of St. Fillan (Holy Celtic) is in the village of Aberdour, on the Northeast of Edinburgh. It's near to the castle, suggesting that they share a common history. Although its foundation has been dated back to 1123, it received its current name in 1390, when the Saint passed by this church. It was in continuous operation until 1796, when roof problems meant it was abandoned. In 1925 it was restored, preserving the original features, and is now operated by the Church of Scotland, with the help of Historic Scotland. Today it's one of the main attractions of the town, after the castle and beach. It perfectly reflects medieval buildings in that area, with sea views and private access from the gardens of the castle. It is famous for its collection of tombs and gravestones in Scotland, which present a rich iconography that has been the subject of academic studies and even publications. Take note of the crossed bones, in a typical pirate style, symbolizing an agreement with the afterlife. It is common to see students taking photos and taking notes. A rather curious place, but charming.